Home > Food, Obscure, The Gratitude Challenge > These Waffles Are No Joke!

These Waffles Are No Joke!


Even though it is National Tell a Joke Day, these waffles are so awesome it is not even funny!

Waffles of champions!

Waffles of champions!

This breakfast is a BIG win for me!

Why are waffles a win? Because by making the waffles for my family’s breakfast today, I  showed them I care for them. By actually getting out of bed, gathering the ingredients (which did involve a quickie trip to the store, mind you!) and getting it on the table, I sent them message that their satisfaction and delight are more important to me than:

1)sleeping 2)working 3)blogging 4) playing with my iPhone

or any other of the numerous things I routinely put before my household and family duties.  But I have been doing too much of that lately, what with work and moving and blogging and tweeting! And actually this makes me unhappy, because while cooking can be a chore, it is also a celebration of food, flavor, and if eaten together, the thing for which I am most grateful: Family.

On Day 3 of The Gratitude Challenge, I’ve been tasked with writing a blog post about something I am grateful for today.

I can honestly say that at times like this morning, I truly appreciate having the honor and privilege of serving my family. It is not always easy, but the good things in life are worth working for. Maybe it is just the hard economic times, but I feel very grateful to be able to provide food and comfort at this level to the people I care about the most.  I consider it a privilege to have the means to buy food, provide a home, and earn the living that enables all of the above.

It is a truly gift to have people to love, a gift that really keeps on giving!

  1. E.
    August 17, 2009 at 7:45 am

    These look delicious. Your family must also be very grateful for you and your love.

  2. jli
    August 17, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    YUUUMMM! that is such an awesome thing to hear.. being grateful to serve your luvd ones.. can i move into ur household?! hehhee ;p

  3. kwristen
    August 17, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Cute post! And cute waffles too! They look tasty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

