Home > Food > iScream,YouScream

iScream,YouScream


Hello friends, and welcome back to CelebrateHoliday where we bring you the great news: today is National Ice Cream Sandwich Day!

No doubt our friends Apple will be selling some new app to inaugurate the day, and I expect YouTube to be inundated with new videos of folks all over reveling in the Day of the Ice Cream Sandwich. Which just goes to show you that I pretty much live in a fantasy world all my own, huh?

Here in the San Francisco Bay Area we do have one singularly awesome ice cream sandwich for which I would like express my undying love and admiration: the It’s It.

MY fave San Francisco "treat"!

MY fave San Francisco "treat"!

Now, coming from Southern California like I do, I have to admit that when moved up here with my dear husband, I wasn’t impressed with the weather (wet & cold) or the need for closed shoes and socks that was suddenly impressed upon me. But after a few months I got used to it and began taking my then toddler son to the Happy Hallow area of Kelly Park and it was there that I got my first taste of one of the best things the Bay Area has to offer: It’s It ice cream sandwich! One scoop of ice cream sandwiched between two delicious oatmeal cookies and then dipped in dark chocolate. A San Francisco “treat” that is the official food of the city and whose origins date back 100 years.

Now, you don’t have to take my word for it, and of course you can feel free to celebrate National Ice Cream Sandwich day with any frozen treat you find to your liking. But if you are ever so inclined, an It’s It is a yummy treat that comes highly reccommended by me. Enjoy.

Categories: Food Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

